Everything happens so fast!

IMG_0832

Since I dove into the knitting blogosphere a few weeks ago when my husband suggested I start a blog, I have been greedily reading and following (yay Bloglovin!!) every blog about yarn, knitting, crocheting, fiber, alpacas, sheep, etc. If it has anything at all to do with yarn in any of it’s stages, I may have clicked on it! First off, this world of online fiber art is HUGE! Second, everyone out there it seems knits or crochets or spins or dyes or fibers 🙂 SUPER FAST!! I took a look at my projects and my knitting style and realized that if I’m going to make it in this crazy world, I’m going to have to gain a little speed when it comes to knitting. I can’t just press on the gas and go faster when it comes to knitting. I like to think I can knit pretty fast, but I do knit English-style, meaning I throw the yarn with my right hand. It seems to me that learning to knit continental could increase my speed.

Let me start off by saying that during a summer break in college my mom did (try) teach me how to crochet. I liked the repetitive motion of it and the fact that it involved yarn. This was before either of us discovered knitting and the LYS. But I really, really, REALLY struggled 1. figuring out which stitch/hole/bump to put the hook through and 2. keeping tension with my left hand.

You see, me and my left hand are not exactly friends. It does have a few redeeming qualities like wearing my wedding ring, holding the left needle during knitting and typing on the keyboard. Other than that, we struggle to be on the same page. I blame my left hand on the fact that I cannot play on anything besides Easy when it comes to Rock Band and have called playing the drums for all time!

That brings me to my struggle with continental knitting. I have tried it a few times. In fact, I was relatively successful using both hands in a stranded colorwork cowl, Carolyn Kern’s Equilibrium Cowl.

IMG_0894

IMG_0888

It did require me to hold one color in my right and one in my left. I felt better after getting going on that for a while, but it’s not my style of choice. Now I need to continue practicing and get my left hand in check. I’ve got several projects going right now and at least one of them should be good practice for continental knitting.

I found this awesome video that helped me get the motion of purling, now to practice: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuRLFl36tDY

So my question is which style do you prefer to use? English? Continental? Did learning one or the other come easier to you? Any helpful hints to make Continental more comfortable?

knit-side-and-purl-side

v’s & bumps,

Jenna

 

5 thoughts on “Everything happens so fast!

  1. I knit English and always have. I tried Continental once, but very quickly got tired of feeling clumsy and having terrible tension! I figured that the time it would require for me to learn how to knit Continental properly… could be put to better use actually knitting the things I wanted to knit.

    The one thing that reliably speeds up my knitting, I’ve found, is actually knitting. If I’m not mindful, I could fritter away all my daily knitting time just looking at Ravelry and the knitting blogs out there, and when the day is done, I haven’t actually knit a stitch. It makes a much bigger difference than knitting style does! Knitting faster isn’t the goal or a mark of success in the fiber world though – we all do it at our own pace. It isn’t a race 🙂

    1. Hi Kaiya,
      Thank you for the reminder. It’s so easy to get caught up in the blogging world and either spend tons of time online or feel a little inadequate when looking at everyone else’s projects. Your perspective was just what I needed. I’m making an effort to spend time actually knitting instead of playing so much in the knitting blogosphere. Thanks again!

  2. I’ve always been a lever knitter. It involves holding the yarn in your right hand, but you never have to let go of it while knitting, which speeds things up considerably. You hold the right needle like a pen, rather than overhand like in most other knitting styles. I was a lever knitter before I knew that’s what it’s called. That’s just how my mother knits and how all my aunts knit, so, by watching them, that’s how I learned to hold the needles as well.

    I can knit okay continentally, but not faster than how I usually knit—about the same or a bit slower, I guess. I use continental with one hand during stranded colorwork, like you. I have such a hard time purling continentally, though! I end up doing combination…purling if I have to do purls with my left hand.

    1. Hi Stacey! Thanks for sharing. I haven’t heard of lever knitting but your comment has opened up some new doors! It looks interesting and definitely something to try. I think it’s important to try different ways of doing things. You never know when you may need to use a new technique.
      I’ve also checked out your blog space! I look forward to reading more. Thanks again for stopping by 🙂

  3. Pingback: Take Time to Knit :) | hardknitlife

Leave a Reply

