Follow Your Arrow to the Driving Range!

IMG_0835

Happy Free-For-All Friday!!!! I feel like this week has flown by. Here in St. Louis, there was a terrible tragedy on Saturday when a young man lost his life. The rest of the week has been utter chaos. I’m hoping things will settle down here soon.

I bet you are wondering what the title is about…if you’ve been keeping up, you know I’ve been recently working away at my Follow Your Arrow Cowl…a Mystery Knit-A-Long from Ysolda Teague that I started in February…well…

IMG_1261

I FINISHED IT!!! Yahoo!!!! I really, really, really need to block it, but here we go.

IMG_1266

I love the edging. I love the color. I just love it.

IMG_1263

I’m hoping with a good block this 100% Merino Ella Rae with grow a little. The shawl is a little small for me. I’m going to blame it on me being tall. With volleyball shoulders. Yes, that’s why 🙂

IMG_1268

About the driving range…last weekend, I went “golfing” with my husband, his brother and his girlfriend (you follow?). I mostly drove the cart and knit, but I did get to hit a few balls. Man! It was fun. And frustrating since I didn’t know what I was doing. So, Tuesday, Jordan and I went to the driving range to work on my swing…We hit for about an hour. I left a little frustrated that I wasn’t just killing it.

So I went back. By myself. On Wednesday. I got the Medium bucket of 70 balls. And went to work. I was improving, but still, quite a few swing and misses…

So I went back. By myself. Today. I got the Large bucket of  100 balls. Much better…much much better. I missed less, I hit the ball straighter, and I can say that I’m hooked.

Anybody else do something once and get hooked? I guess knitting has been the same. A few stitches, a trip to the yarn store and BAM! Here we are 5 years later, juggling 3 different active WIPs and itching to cast on more 🙂

Happy Friday! Have a wonderful weekend!

knit-side-and-purl-side

v’s & bumps,

Jenna

10 thoughts on “Follow Your Arrow to the Driving Range!

  1. i remember my one and only golf lesson……i was doing ‘ok’ (not great by any means, but ok, even though the instructor kept saying ‘this is not tennis’….how did he KNOW i was a tennis player????) until I got in front of the water hazard. Every ball right in the drink….even though every ball up to that point had been hit much further. 😦 I really didn’t have fun. I went back to knitting.

    1. Oh no!!! I’m sorry golf didn’t go well…I’m learning that it is very, very challenging just to be consistently bad 🙂 At least knitting is there for you, without a water hazard!!

  2. Jenna, what a lovely little blog you have here. I’ll add it to my reader right away. I think how you feel about golf is how I felt as a child about anything to do with yarn. I just had to have and do more!

    1. Thank you Pia! I have enjoyed reading your words as well 🙂 It is such a wonderful feeling to have the desire to learn something new. I felt it with knitting when I first started and still get good bouts of it whenever I come across a new blog or pattern or yarn or sometimes just because 🙂

Leave a Reply

