The Mad Rush

holiday cheer

Hi there, broken record here…you know, the one that seems to keep saying the same thing over and over again? Yep, that’s me. I am still here. My life has been a little hectic with the holidays. We were hosts to my in-laws for the last week. It was great 🙂 I had a blast cooking for everyone, there was an epic game of dominoes (that is still unfinished!), and so much wonderful time spent with family.

But onto the knitting.

I don’t know what it is about the new year, but I’ve been feeling the desire to clear up my needles. I have so many things I want to start knitting, but it is hard for me to pull out the ball winder and swift to start some new project when I see the pile of WIPs both in real life and on my Rav page.

In good news, I did finish up the Settler Shawl in my Two Grey Dogs yarn. It is luscious! Only slight frustration I had was that I ran out of yarn during the last pattern repeat! Good news? I only had about 2 more rows of garter stitch and the bind off to complete when I scoured my bag-o-ends. I found some shiny, happy pima cotton in the perfect yellow from a wrap I knit myself a couple years ago.

photo 2 (4)

Maybe the cotton will give the edge of the shawl a little weight. I guess it will all come out in the wash.

photo 3 (4)

I also dug out this little bunny that has been hibernating for entirely too long. I finished it up. And it’s super cute!

photo 1 (4)

Only complaint? I chose to do this in a cotton-acrylic blend, it’s worsted weight and I was knitting on US size 3 needles for a super tight fabric so the stuffing wouldn’t show through. It was a bit torturous on my hands but thankfully I didn’t have much left. And the yarn used for the rainbow “socks” was a wool blend and was nice and springy.

I’m surveying what I’ve got left and seeing what I can finish by Friday so I can start a sweater for me in the new year 🙂

Does the rapid approach of the new year make you want to finish all the things??

knit-side-and-purl-side

 

v’s & bumps,

Jenna

16 thoughts on “The Mad Rush

  1. I’m feeling the same way..I have finished a hat..and almost done with a pair of socks…and every single time I open your page, I hear the song from Annie go through my head! It was my first Broadway play for my 9th birthday in 1977! My dad and I went together and stayed at my aunt’s in Brooklyn…fond memories…

  2. it really DOES feel good to free up some needles!!! (not that I really need to free up any…..I have plenty to spare!!!). Love the solution for the shawl….looks like it was intended to be that way, and that little bunny is the cutest!!! Aren’t you smart…..you’re ahead of the game for Easter this year!!!! (overachiever!)

  3. Right there with you! Just finished another belated Christmas present (only two to go), but am taking a break from them to bind-off a little shawlette that has just been chilling for months! Your Ravelry queue doesn’t look too bad right now… 🙂

  4. That little rabbit is so cute! And I can’t wait to see the shawl all blocked out 🙂 I’m going to be hosting a KAL in the new year and I’m excited to begin new things (after wrapping up the old things first, gotta be responsible) in 2015!

  5. The approach of the new year is mainly making me want to cast on all the things, which I really really shouldn’t do.. I’ve loved that Settler shawl you’ve been making from the very beginning, and it came out so beautiful. Gray and yellow makes my heart sing. Clever solution with the yellow cotton at the edge! And that bunny is super cute.

  6. I love your shawl, and the yellow edging looks deliberate; I just love it when a problem in knitting can turn into something totally unique! My predicament is trying to choose which yarn/patterns to take with me when I go camping next week! Happy New Year!

    1. Thanks! I am with you on the what to take to knit on a trip…I always end up over-packing, but I think it’s better to be over prepared than to be stuck sitting with nothing to knit!

Leave a Reply

