Things I “Dislike”

I read this quote last week on a blog post by Karen on Pumpkin Sunrise. (You should definitely check out her site. Karen is someone to relate to and always seems to have the most thoughtful, beautiful posts.)

Be content with what you have;
rejoice in the way things are.
When you realize there is nothing lacking,
the whole world belongs to you.      -Lao Tzu

Talk about perfect timing! This came right after my post last week about happiness. It really made me think about how I do think about happiness. Couple this with all the kind, thoughtful comments from you guys and I was feeling incredibly encouraged. Such a fantastic reminder to “rejoice in the way things are.”

This helped me reflect on another aspect of happiness, “dislike.”

I was in bed last night and thinking about things. My brain was just buzzing and I couldn’t fall asleep until I thought a few things through. I pulled out my journal and jotted down this:

“Things I dislike? –retrain the brain/feelings to try new thinks”

Seems a little silly, but I thought I’d try. I think disliking most things is all about the way we think about them. What if, instead of completing a chore like sweeping and vacuuming with an attitude of dread, I undertook the chore as something good, productive, dare I say-fun? That will be my experiment for the coming month: retraining my brain to think about things I initially dislike and thinking about them in a new way or “new thinks.”

Your waiting for when this comes to knitting.

Well, you remember those socks I started a while ago, like a long while ago, the Technicolor Socks?

IMG_1725

They are still kicking around in my WIP pile, but they aren’t that far from being done. Why are they stalling? I don’t like knitting heels and picking up gusset stitches. You are thinking, “why didn’t you just throw in a ripcord and do an afterthought heel?” or “It’s not that bad” or “what in the world are you talking about?”

IMG_1726

I don’t love this part of the knitting and I think this would be a great way to try out my new way of thinking 🙂 I will keep you posted on how this goes.

I’ve also got these Bootstrap Socks (at least one) that is dangerously close to the heel here, but it’s going to be a different heel experience thanks to Lara Neel & Sock Architecture (some Love Your Library progress!).

IMG_1723

I’ll let you know if this changes the way I feel about heels too.

IMG_1724

I love that little blip of pink! So Spring-y 🙂

Linking up with:
Emily for Love Your Library
Nicole for Keep Calm & Craft On


Jenna

18 thoughts on “Things I “Dislike”

  1. That Bootstrap does indeed look like an interesting heel. I look forward to hearing how you like it. I also usually dread the gussett, but this time I found it “not so bad”. I guess practice helps too.

  2. first, LOVE the bootstrap sock, i want to try that!
    second… i can so relate. i get stuck in that cycle of samsara. i read pumpkin sunrise post too and felt like it came at the most perfect time! i was up to my armpits in spring cleaning and just disliking all the things, after reading that, i just realized i need to reexam my out look. felt really good.

  3. As I often catch myself postponing things that are not very exciting for me, I can really relate to your post… What helps me is to stop all this stream like thinking and just concentrate on one thing at a time, whether it is a calculating how many stitches I have to inc/dec or washing dishes. Life is a journey, not a destination and we have to enjoy every single step of it! Thank you for this post!

  4. Let me know if you find a way to make vacuuming fun! I listen to music and rock out while I do it, but it’s still not really “fun”. Good luck–it’s a worthy goal!

  5. knittedblissjc

    both your sock WIPs are really great- I love the texture and colours in the first one, and that striped one is amazing – caterpillargreen yarn, I think? And I’m with you on retraining the brain- I agree that how we perceive things is often by habit or choice, and that we can retrain our brains. Of course, easier said than done, right?!

  6. You are so going to have me buying that sock book by the end of the year … the downside of the love your library challenge is that it makes me want to add to my library! LOL!

  7. Heel: gateway to The Rest of the Sock? That might be one way to look at it. Too bad we can’t just swap socks with someone else to get past the part we dislike. I could do you heels because I like them and you and do the rest of my sock when I get bored when the heel and gusset are done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

