Getting There

So we knit and knit and knit, but sometimes the things stay on the needles! I can’t understand why even after all the stitches (I think) I put onto these lovely Technicolor Socks, I still feel like I’m a few rows from actually starting the toe decreases on the right sock!! I think the left sock is ready.

 

IMG_1780

Maybe I’ll blame it on my long toes. Or on the US 0 needles.

Maybe I shouldn’t blame them at all. It’s so nice to have a mindless knitting project to cart around in my purse that’s not huge (here’s looking at you Turia)

IMG_1775

or doesn’t need a book to travel with it (Bootstrap Socks that are ready for the heel)

IMG_1773

or doesn’t need to be really looked at every stitch (Curl #2 Cerise)

IMG_1770

or isn’t turning out like I think I want (Colour Change Scarf)

IMG_1779

or isn’t a general pain in the bum (Skinty Stripe Scarf)Β with a kitty supervisor

IMG_1777

or doesn’t need a chart, pencil, row counter and complete silence (Catkin Shawl)…

IMG_1774

That’s all the current WIPs and most of them are not travel worthy…maybe I should just finish these socks and turn the heel on the Bootstrap Socks so I can have more things to travel with and some empty needles?

Or the alternative…

I could start something new! Maybe keep it in line with my Love Your Library Challenge and work on a Curl or another pair of socks from Sock Architecture? I could go and check out all the lovelies at Keep Calm & Craft On for inspiration…

What would you do in this situation, keep your nose down and finish or venture into the stash for something fresh and new?

❀
Jenna

16 thoughts on “Getting There

  1. heehee….you don’t want us to really answer that, do you?
    I’m getting ready to head to the beach….not only have I cast on something new, and packed way more WIPs than I could possibly finish in a month–let alone the week we’ll be gone, BUT I’ve also included yarn and needles NYCO (not yet cast on); the bummer is—- yesterday, I pulled something out of the travel pile and knit it up real quick. My dilemma—do I stash dive to replace it or let it go?
    OK. What would YOU do!?!

  2. Considering I only have two active wips at the moment I would likely cast on something else, but you’re covered in that regard. Finish the socks and then celebrate with a new cast on!

  3. Let’s swap socks….hahaha Your first pair look lovely. What size do you wear? I’m impressed with your zeros. I’m all about motivational knitting. Grab more needles. I broke my yarn diet this month for my bday. Knit what makes you happy #YOLO

    1. I was a little nutty to take on zeroes, I usually knit socks on a US 2.5, but I’ve been experimenting with gauge looking for a tighter fabric, 0s were a big jump, I’m trying 1s on the second pair…
      I’m loving your socks and we may be able to switch πŸ™‚ I wear a women’s 10…and I’m seriously considering a yarn diet “cheat” day…I’ve got a gift card to Webs that may be nearing its due date πŸ™‚

      1. Oh wow. I’m too scared to change needles to drastically. These are supposed to be for me, but I might feel the ‘toes too long syndrome’ too. You got baby feet– I’m a size 10.5- 11 Ha!!! At what point do you stop and start decrease to toes? We seriously need a ‘big foot’ guide to sck knitting for ladies. As for cheat day– do it. I’m buying a couple different types of sock yarn to see what works best for me. And Webs is awesome!!!

      2. πŸ™‚ I start the toe decreases usually when the socks come up over my big toe knuckle to the base of my big toe…I’m sure there is a science to it, but I’m just winging it!!

  4. Both pairs of socks are looking great as are your scarves/shawls but I really like the last one. I understand the need for portable mindless knitting projects. I just casted on the KITKAT hat this morning.

    1. Thank you! I also love the Catkin…I just need some lovely super quiet time to put in some work. Maybe after I finish my socks πŸ™‚ The KitKat hat is darling! I may need one of those!!

  5. My first reaction to such a situation is always to cast on something new. I used to berate myself for being in a state of permanent startitis, but eventually I figured out that it’s just knitting! It’s a leisure activity. I can do whatever I want!

  6. Lovely projects, I like that Bootstrap pattern.

    I don’t like having too many projects on the go as I feel like I’m never finishing any of them. Three projects at a time seems to be my happy number lol

Leave a Reply

