Um, Tuesday?

Yes! It’s Tuesday! I’ve made it to the second day in the work week, it’s before 6:00am here in St. Louis, Missouri and I’ve been marinating on what to post about for a while…when I say “a while” it’s more like 4 days or so.

This weekend was beautiful! Saturday, our temperatures got up into the 60s. We cleaned the house…like real cleaning. I was sweeping in the kitchen and my husband made a comment about getting some dust off the bottom of the wall by the stove. I moved the broom a little ways up the wall and knocked it down. Then I started looking at the stove…we’ve been in this place about a year and a half and I don’t know if I’ve ever moved the stove. It looked a little yuck and I could see a part of a pretzel sticking out from under one corner so Jordan pulled out the drawer and we walked the stove out of it’s corner only to uncover a 2 hour project. I swept, I scrubbed, I rinsed, I scrubbed, I mopped, I scrubbed…you get the picture.


I don’t think that thing had been moved since before we moved in as we found a spoon and a tupperware lid back there that we’ve never owned. Oh well, I guess that’s what you get with rentals…I eyed the fridge, but I wasn’t quite ready to give up another 2 hours. Instead we went downstairs and washed cars. Yes, in January.

After that, all I wanted to do was post up on the couch and knit! I’ve been staying focused on my two deadline knits.

First up the Chevron Baby Blanket by Espace Tricot. Talk about a potato chip knit! The pattern is pretty intuitive and I’ve put in a few markers so I can count less…in fact I was zipping right along, getting ready to change colors when I counted one of the sections and I had something like 7 or 8 stitches too many…I neglected to do the double decrease some 8 rows back more than once…I thought about dropping down to fix it like with a cable, but I decided there would be too much extra yarn in the rows the error was on and the 8 or so rows above the “oversight”…so I ripped it back, used some size 6 needles to pick it all back up and got going again.


I made it out of the dark purple in a little over an afternoon’s worth of knitting, making up the progress I had taken out. I thought about leaving it, but the blanket would have had a weird overall shape I think, fanning out a bit. I don’t mind leaving a single stitch mistake in a bigger project like this, but 8 stitches too many? I’m not sure it wouldn’t have gone unnoticed. Besides, the lines running up the decrease section looked weird.

Enough about that one…I’m still working on the Hammerhavn Sock by Pia Juulsen. It’s a test knit for her and I’ve got til early March. She’s given the ok to gush about the project and share a bit with you guys!


I’m using some Lorna’s Laces Solemate in the Satsuma colorway. I keep wanting to call it Shepherd Sock in the Tangerine colorway 🙂 I knew it was named after some citrus! Pia has written a gorgeous pattern. The cables wind down the leg and while I do have to pay attention to my knitting, the rounds go quickly and it’s easy to see where your next cabled stitch will fall in the pattern. I don’t feel very dependent on the chart any longer and I’ve just finished the second repeat on the leg.


It’s been excellent practice cabling without using a cable needle as these are only 1×1 stitch crossings. I think that’s what you’d call it, but I’m only swapping the order of 1 stitch with another stitch so dropping one off to the front or back is not intimidating. If it were 5 or more, I’d be pulling out the cable needle for sure.

Anyway, I think I’ve rambled enough and I made need to go get in the shower so I can be at work on time…I wish I had the whole day to lounge and knit and talk with you guys, but I’m not sure my co-workers would appreciate being shorthanded 🙂

Until next time…linking up with Nicole at Frontier Dreams for Keep Calm Craft On.


Jenna

5 thoughts on “Um, Tuesday?

  1. You never really know how clean your house is until you move out! Then you find all those nooks and crannies you never even thought of cleaning — at least I do!
    That sock pattern is very pretty. I need to learn how to do cables without a cable needle!

Leave a Reply

