Fall is in the Air

Oh my goodness does it feel like fall or what!!! The weather has been wonderful and breezy for about 4 days. Maybe 75 degrees Fahrenheit outside, low humidity…so low that we have our windows open and the air conditioning off! And each time I get in the car to drive somewhere I open those windows too!

I always feel like fall arrives in a very quick fashion. I was still thinking that I was in the sweltering depths of summer, but with a few nice days, my hands are itching to knit. And to knit wool. Not the light linen of summer, but squishy, warm wool. And pumpkin. I crave pumpkin! Beer, bread, beer bread, cake, coffee…all sounds good right now 🙂

 

I finally attacked finishing up the heel on this sock.

IMG_1836

It’s my Bootstrap Sock from Lara Neel’s Sock Architecture…so cool!

IMG_1835

The Balbriggan heel involves working a heel flap and then kitchener stitching the bottom up…I don’t know what it’s called, but it was fun to practice that special technique that I generally avoid save for the end of the sock process 🙂

Now to pick up the stitches again and get on down the foot!! Then I can start the next one!

IMG_1837

I’ve also picked up my Cerise Curl again…I tried to get more yarn, but the shop was out 😦 I really wanted a LARGE shawl. I’m a tall girl, I’m not dainty and I like a lot of wool to keep me warm and/or stylish. I am hoping that once I get it off the needles, it will block out substantially. There isn’t much yarn left, maybe 12 grams? I’m hoping by next Friday, I’ll have it finished.

Here’s linking up with some wonderful people! I’ve missed for a while now and it just feels right to get back into the habit 🙂
Yarn Along with Ginny @ Small Things
Keep Calm Craft On with Nicole @ Frontier Dreams
Whatcha Workin’ On with Beth @ iknead2knit
Stitch Along Wednesday with Tammy @ Life & Yarn

What is gracing your needles this week? Anything make you feel like fall is right around the corner??


Jenna

8 thoughts on “Fall is in the Air

  1. Hi there! I am just popping over from the Yarn Along! I love the yarn you are using for your sock I keep meaning to make another pair of socks before winter, like you, I feel fall is coming and time is running out for that before the weather changes!

  2. It is suddenly fall-like here, too, and I love it. But the first days of school are forecast to be in the 80s! And we have no AC at school.

    I’ve been working on shawls, socks and mittens lately, which is my usual mix.

    1. Hopefully the weather holds out to be nice especially without the relief of potential AC. I’ve enjoyed keeping up with your shawls and all the books you read!! I’ve got a list a mile long 🙂

  3. Yeah, we’ve had great weather here too. I need to get out and enjoy it as usually it lasts a couple of weeks and then BAM it’s cold. I’ve never used that sock technique. It sounds interesting, but how is the fit?

Leave a Reply

