Shame! Shame on me…

IMG_0833

I’ve been blogging for about 2 weeks and I keep looking around all the other blogs about knitting and crochet and crafting (thank you bloglovin) and all the WIPs people are working on, so I’m diving into my WIP stash…yes, I may have a stash of WIPs. So we are going to take a look at them.

IMG_0963

Up first is my unfinished Tumbling Bunny. I took a class at Sophie’s back in March with Kirby & this is as far as I got that day. It was right in the middle of when I was knitting my 1/2 Log Cabin Blanket for Baby Whittington, who has since arrived 🙂 Hopefully I can pick this up and finish it in the next few weeks!

IMG_0964 IMG_0965

 

This is my Follow Your Arrow Shawl I tried to do as the mystery KAL a while back. We can see how well I actually “knit-a-long” with this one. It’s in some gorgeous Ella Rae Lace Merino in a teal.

IMG_0966 IMG_0968

This is an abomination. It was supposed to be a crazy cable in some alpaca. It’s frogged. I want to use the yarn along with the CEY Ariosa to make a scarf for my cousin Lauren. It keeps getting pushed to the back of my knitting bucket because I haven’t found a pattern I want to knit with it.

IMG_0969 IMG_0970

This is a cool drop stitch scarf I started also in a class a couple years ago in Memphis at Rainbow Fibres. This is in some gorgeous Noro Silk Garden Lite. Here’s my rav link.

IMG_0971 IMG_0974

I started these in a Little Pleasures group at Hank of Yarn in Southaven, Mississippi. I didn’t love the colors to work it up in, but I was excited about my first fair isle project and my first pair of mittens. We can see how much I got done in the class setting, but no homework…maybe one day I will return to these.

IMG_0975 IMG_0976

These are just some basic socks I’ve got going in Pagewood Farms Denali. I love the colors and the softness of the yarn, but I am annoyed at the brass tips of my Addi Lace points. They have a yucky smell and it makes me not want to knit with them…Plus these are for me and as you can see, every project I start for me is generally something that takes a while.

IMG_0977 IMG_0978

This is my Wine Country Cowl for my friend Michelle. It’s coming along nicely on the US 17 needles. I’m hoping to have it finished and blocked before I leave to see her next week.

IMG_0979 IMG_0980

This is the fun color change scarf for my friend Jabes. Also a project I’d like to have done next week. One more thing I should be working on instead of browsing blogs 🙂

IMG_0981

This is a scarf I started for my husband in February when I bought this skein of Mountain Colors that looked manly! I thought initially I’d make him a hat, but my gauge was off and I got real frustrated real fast so plan B: man scarf.

IMG_0982

This is the Skinty Stripe Scarf from the 5KCBWDay1. She’s a tough one to work on because her yarn is so thin and the needles are US 5. Plus I’m still in the increasing stage and I really don’t want to count the stitches. She is very soft though.

IMG_0867

And there’s still the Never Ending First Project. At least I’ve moved this one to my car and I do occasionally work on it when I get to work early or if I’m stuck in traffic or at a train. It’s growing. Slowly.

IMG_0983

 

And there is this bag of beauty. That’s 11 skeins of Tahki Cotton Classic for the Pickle’s Midsummer Baby Blanket for another baby on the way.

 

So that’s 11 WIPs. That I should be actively working on. And I’ve got the yarn, needles, and pattern ready for at least 3 more projects. Then people keep having babies and birthdays. It all just stacks up. Does this happen to any one else?

knit-side-and-purl-side

v’s & bumps,

Jenna

PS. Linking with Tami’s Amis, Yarn Along & Keep Calm & Craft On

17 thoughts on “Shame! Shame on me…

  1. The finished pics of Tumbling Bunny look too precious! I’d love to see how yours turns out!
    All of these projects so far look ambitious and beautiful, but the wip I’m the most excited about are the basic socks! Maybe you can finish the project with similar dpns for a more enjoyable knit? I haven’t heard much about the smell of Addi Lace points but definitely have an idea of the scent you’re talking about. It stays on your fingers too sometimes…ecch

    1. I think I’m going to get in contact with Addi about it. I do love their Turbo Clicks for other projects and mayhaps they would be willing to work something out 🙂 I would also love to see the socks come to life. I’ve got some DPNs somewhere…

    1. Hi Lorraine,
      I like that idea. I’ve moved them out of the hibernation place in my bedroom and into the open in the living room near my favorite knit spot. Hopefully seeing them will make it easier to pick them up and do a few rows 🙂

    1. I didn’t realize how many I had and I am feeling a little overwhelmed. I don’t think this will stop me from casting on a project or two when I do finish one 🙂 Thankfully some of these are in unofficial hibernation!

    1. The babies are fun to knit for since they are so small 🙂 I feel like I make a good impression when I gift them something handmade in their earliest days of existence 🙂

    1. Most of those are hibernating, but I did take them out to document them. Now I’ve got them near my favorite knitting spot on the couch so hopefully I can knit a few more rows on them.

  2. Oh yeah! I remember the days when I let WIPs pile up. It does feel so good to finish them, but sometimes you just need to frog them. The hard part will be to decide which project to knit on first!

  3. I have a lot of wips that I don’t think I’ll ever finish! I started a sweater for my husband at least four years ago, and it’s still languishing in a tub.

Leave a comment